Click to Zoom.. Azad Kashmir
Click to Zoom..

Azad Kashmir (Pakistan)


Azad Kashmir, also known as Azad Jammu and Kashmir, is a self governing territory, administrated by Pakistan. Jammu and Kashmir is divided among Pakistan and India by UN on the Line of Control. Both of the countries claims the entire state of Kashmir as their own but issue was still under the conflict between Pakistan and India since 1949.

The maharaja Hari Singh was the ruler of Jammu and Kashmir and willing to give control of the state to India which was the against the people of Jammu and Kashmir, the majority of them were muslims at that time. So in 1947, people of Kashmir stood against the maharaja. Then thousands of Pashtun from Khyber Pakhtoonkhwa moved toward Jammu and Kashmir to liberate Jammu and Kashmir. They captured the area near the state capital Srinagar. So the Maharaja requested India for military assistance and Indian Army got the remaining part of the state and war was initiated between India and Pakistan. After that, India approched the United Nations to resolve the conflit and then UN declared a cease-fire between India and Pakistan by setting a Line of Control in 1972 to hold the captured parts of Jammu and Kashmir between India and Pakistan.

Azad Kashmir has its own self-governing legislative assembly under the control of Pakistan.

Azad Jammu and Kashmir is situated on the lower part of the Himalayas, the Sarwali peak in the Neelum Valley is the highest peak in the region. Whole region is composed of lush green and fertile mountainous valleys, which attracts number of visitors from all around Pakistan and other countries.

The climate in northern part of Azad Kashmir is cold and chilly in winters and moderate in summers, whereas southern part is extremely hot in summers and moderate in winters, but these areas receive moonsoon in summers.

Azad Kashmir Map