Click to Zoom..
Click to Zoom..

Dera Ghazi Khan (Punjab)


Dera Ghazi Khan, known as D. G. Khan, is situated on the western bank of the Indus River on the foot of Sulaiman Mountains Range with an average height of 10,000 feet in South Punjab at the junction of four provinces. It is situated with the boundary of Balochistan, so number of Baloch people along with Saraikis are living there.

Dera Ghazi Khan was named after Ghazi Khan Mirrani and founded in 15the century. It was ruled by Mirranis families for number of years. It is also an oldest city in the South Asia.

The overall climate of the city is normally dry and hot in summer, having little rainfall, but winter is relatively cold. In Fort Munro, it also receives some snowfall. Due to the dry and barren mountains of Koh-Suleman and desert-like soil of the area, heavy windstorms are very much common in the summer. It is included in the list of cities where temperature in summer is higher in Pakistan.

The people in Dera Ghazi Khan are much poor, and more than 51% population of Dera Ghazi Khan are living below the poverty line. These are ruled by the few rich landlords and sardars of Dera Ghazi Khan, who also held most important position in the Government of Pakistan. But the status of people of the city is still below the standards.

Dera Ghazi Khan is famous for high quality mangoes. There are number of vast mango orchards in surroundings of the city. Agriculture is the main profession for the people of this city. It produces number of cash crops to fulfill the need of the country.

Fort Munro

Fort Munro, located on the border of Punjab Province at the distance of 80 km from D. G. Khan city in the Sulaiman Mountains Range, at the altitude of 1800 meters above sea level, has relatively cool and pleasant weather. Sometimes in winter, it receives some snowfall. So several visitors had a visit in winter season in Fort Munro.

Tomb of Hazarat Sakhi Sarwar

The shrine of Hazarat Sakhi Sarwar, is located in the Sulaiman Mountains at the distance of 35 km from D. G. Khan city. A festival, also called Sangh Mela or Vaisakhi, is celebrated in March and April. It is celebrated by Muslims as well as Hindus.

Tomb of Ghazi Khan

It is the oldest building in the city, and there is a graveyard of 11 members of Nawab Ghazi Khan Mirrani family. The prominent building in the graveyard is the shrine of Ghazi Khan.

Hazrat Shah Suleman's Shrine

Dargah of Hazrat Khawaja Shah Muhammad Suleman is located in Taunsa Sharif in D. G. Khan district. It is a good place for spiritual gathering.

Taunsa Barrage It is located in the north of Dera Ghazi Khan city on the Indus River. It is good for a one-day picnic spot and also the best place for fishing with families. One can enjoy the broader view of the Indus River as well as boating in the river.

Dera Ghazi Khan Map

Reviews about Dera Ghazi Khan

No review about Dera Ghazi Khan

Write your review about Dera Ghazi Khan

Tour places in Dera Ghazi Khan

  • Fort Munro

    Fort Munro, also known as Tuman Leghari, is a beautiful hill station in the Sulaiman Mountain Range in Southern Punjab at an altitude of 6,470 feet above sea level, in Dera Ghazi Khan. It is located at a distance of 85 km from Dera Ghazi Khan city on Quetta Road. It is my favorite spot in summary due to its cool and pleasant atmosphere.
    Tourism in Fort Munro

Dera Ghazi Khan Photo Gallery

  • Cement Factory in DG Khan

    There are number of industrial units related to cement manufacturing and stone crushing in Dera Ghazi Khan due to its land structure that is favourable for these types of industries. One of the largest cement producing factory in Pakistan is also situtated in Dera Ghazi Khan.